About GFOA Alberta

When the Government Finance Officers Association was formed in 1979, the Association was essentially a single mandate committee that existed mainly for the purpose of coordinating an annual conference for the benefit of the province’s municipal finance employees.

However, a much greater role for the GFOA was realized beginning in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s. Effective leadership and new initiatives resulted in unprecedented membership growth. Since that time, new ideas and strategic thinking have continued to move the organization forward. The last eight years, in particular, have witnessed great strides for our organization. We are especially proud of our annual conferences and the training opportunities, which offer our members a wealth of opportunity for networking and professional development.

Today our organization boasts over 1,000 members and serves a pivotal role in ensuring the financial well being of local government in our province. The growth and vitality that we have realized, especially in recent years, bears witness to the ever-increasing value of our products and services. As the Board of Directors, our first order of business is to focus this growing momentum in a direction that will lead to future sustainability and expansion.


GFOA Alberta is a professional organization whose purpose is to enhance the practice of governmental finance in the Province of Alberta. Our objectives include:

  • Promote networking opportunities for all government finance officials within all levels of government
  • Support and promotion of Provincial, Canadian and International GFOA Conferences and training programs
  • Communication with membership on financial issues
  • Liaison with Municipal Affairs
  • Enhance the profile of GFOA Alberta.

Our Association is affiliated with the International Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) and maintains contact with its staff to promote training opportunities and participation in annual international GFOA conferences.

GFOA Board of Directors

Jennifer Place, President
Lethbridge County

Heather Surkan, Vice President
Red Deer County

Ed Kaemingh, Past President
Associate Member

Gene Peskens, Treasurer
City of Edmonton

Shelley Thomas, Secretary
City of Brooks

Alvin Allim, Director-at-Large
Town of Devon

Christa Cornelssen, Director-at-Large
County of Stettler No.6

Chris Jacyk, Director-at-Large
City of Calgary

Travis Nosko, Director-at-Large
Alberta Municipal Affairs

Allan Bartolcic, Executive Director
GFOA Alberta

Candace Coambs, Executive Administrator
GFOA Alberta

Communications Task Force

Mark DeBoer, Chair
Lethbridge School Board No.51

Tracy Hayter, Member
City of Calgary

Tao Liu, Member
Student Member

Darrell Mathews, Member
City of Lethbridge

Barry Sawada, Member
City of Lethbridge

Chandra Simpson, Member
Lethbridge County

Noell Smith, Member

Emerging Issues Task Force

Jeff Dyck, Chair
Parkland County

Jeff Alliston, Vice-Chair
Metrix Group LLP

Stewart Bruce, Member
City of Edmonton

Andrew HayesMember
Strathcona County

Clayton Northey, Member
City of Fort Saskatchewan

Michael Minchin, Member
Lacombe County

Shelley Thomas, Member
City of Brooks

Professional Development Task Force

Alvin Allim, Chair
Town of Devon

Chris Jacyk, Vice-Chair
City of Calgary

Jeremy Graves, Member
Red Deer County

Sandra Lund, Member
Town of Ponoka

Tolulope Maraiyesa, Member
MD of Bonnyville No.87

Lorianne Marshall, Member
City of Red Deer

Mauricio Reyes, Member
City of Lacombe

Julia Seppola, Member
Town of Westlock

Tamara Sloboda, Member
CPA Municipal Consulting

Diane Urkow, Member
Westlock County